In by noon or your money back!

Lasagna Rolls

Hello…. anyone out there? Do you find this meme helpful? Leave me a comment and let me know… please join in and share a freezer recipe on your blog and link it here or if you do not blog, leave a recipe in the comments!

Today is Freezer Food Friday.

Freezer Food Friday

 

Please post a recipe that can be made ahead and frozen for later use. Link it below using Mister Linky and make sure to visit each blog who shares. I am on Twitter if you want to follow me and have started collecting Swagbucks. Swagbucks is a search engine where you can win bucks for searching ( I just use it in place of Google ). Check it out and see if it works for you!

Lasagna Rolls

2 (28 oz cans) diced tomatoes
2-4 cloves garlic
1 tbsp Italian seasoning
salt and pepper
1 tbsp vegetable oil
2 medium cooking onions, diced
2 cups sliced mushrooms
1/2 package Europe’s Best frozen spinach (thawed), squeezed to release extra liquid
2 cups ricotta cheese
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
salt and pepper
1 package fresh lasagna noodles (7 sheets per package)
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. In a food processor, puree tomatoes, garlic, Italian seasoning, salt and pepper. Set aside.
3. Spray 13 X 9-inch (3 L) glass baking dish with cooking spray. Pour one third of the tomato mixture in the baking pan.
4. In a non-stick skillet, heat oil. Add onions and mushrooms. Cook over medium high heat until slightly carmelized. Stir occasionally. Remove from heat and set aside.
5. In bowl, stir together onions, mushrooms, spinach, ricotta cheese, egg, half cup of shredded cheddar and half cup of shredded mozzarella. Season with salt and pepper. Mix well.
6. Lay all 7 sheets of pasta on the counter. Divide the filling evenly between the sheets, mounding it along the short end. Tightly roll up the pasta to make a long tube. Lay each filled pasta tube in the baking dish on top of the tomato sauce, seam side down. Repeat with other pasta tubes.
7. Pour remaining tomato sauce on top. Sprinkle remaining cheese over top.
8. Cover with foil and bake in centre of oven for 30 minutes. Remove foil and continue to bake for 10-15 minutes until cheese is bubbling and browned. Allow to rest for 10 minutes before serving.

This also freezes well, so while you’re at it, double the recipe and make another pan for the freezer! If you are going to freeze it, then cover with saran first, then tinfoil If you freeze it, remove it from the freezer and let it thaw in the fridge overnight before baking, then follow the same instructions to cook as are on the recipe.

Comments on: "Lasagna Rolls" (10)

  1. I love Freezer Food Fridays!!! I just don’t have any recipes to share. I want to make a plan to fill our freezer with meals for nights when I don’t have time to cook.

    • Any recipe suited for freezing will work. I don’t insist that the be TNT, just link the source if you can. I would love to see more participation. Thanks for commenting!

  2. I have been reading your blog for a while for the recipes, but it took me a while to start trying them. Ok, it took having a baby to even attempt Once a Month Cooking. I went ahead and posted a recipe of my own to support this meme though. Cause I wish more people participated. – I just need to find a out where to get one of those freezer meal friday links. I will add to the post.

    • Right cliick on the picture and save it to your pc. then you can put it in your post. You might also be able to copy and paste it from my blog to yours. Thanks for participating.

  3. […] over to MJ’s for Freezer Food Friday and check out what’s in her freezer.  Then come on back with your gluten free freezer […]

  4. angelaskitchen said:

    Sorry I have been so absent. Trying to get back on the bloggy bandwagon. I have so much to catch up on your blog! I have my link up now.

    thank you for hosting.

  5. I have not made lasagna rolls in ages so seeing your blog title reminded me how much we used to like them. I need to give them a try again!

  6. These sound wonderful!

  7. I love your website. You have blessed me with wonderful recipes and you are most appreciated!

  8. I just subscribed to your blog. The recipe looks yummy. Thanks!

Leave a comment