In by noon or your money back!

One Banana Banana Bread

One Banana Banana Bread

1 Large Very Ripe Banana (or two small ones)
1 Egg with enough milk to make One Cup liquid
1 Stick butter/margarine (softened) ( 1 stick = 1/2 cup )
1 tsp Vanilla
1-1/2 Cup Flour
1 Cup Sugar
1 tsp Baking Soda
Nuts (optional)

Put all ingredients in a large bowl together (don’t need to sift or
mix anything beforehand). Use mixer on slow to medium to mix until
lumps are pretty well gone (not too long or bread will be too firm).

Pam-Sprayยฎ bread pans (do not flour).

Fill pans 2/3 full

Bake 55 Minutes @ 350 Degree until Golden Brown. Toothpick test for
doneness. This bread comes out quite moist and quite a lot of banana
flavor (with only the one banana)!

You can use this same recipe to make itty bitty, kid-sized teacakes
(bake time is about 15-18 minutes), cupcakes, small loaves, etc.

The baked bread can be wrapped up in foil and frozen. Just pull it
out, defrost it, unwrap and reheat in paper towel in the microwave
until warm. Slice it and enjoy!

Comments on: "One Banana Banana Bread" (40)

  1. I love banana bread, it tastes great and it’s really easy to make. I can’t seem to ruin it, no matter how “hard I try” ๐Ÿ™‚ Found lots of recipes there..

  2. I though I got it all wrong and when it was in the oven it smelt very good. it is very easy to make it seems so little ingredes but makes a lot.
    I love your banana bread itโ€™s the best!!!!!!!!!

  3. I just tried this recipe. As I had only one banana just sitting on my kitchen counter looking sad and lonely. However, I put my own twist on it. So, we shall see how that goes.

    Whenever I discover a new recipe I always tend to add something extra to the bunch. I did see a recipe awhile ago called peanut butter banana bread so I decided to decrease the sugar to about 2/3 cup and add some peanut butter (to taste), as well as a tsp of cinnamon, and a sprinkle of nutmeg to this recipe. Will let you know how they turned out. Thank you for the recipe ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. This recipe is great, I didn’t think I could make a banana bread that would actually taste like banana using just one banana but it worked.

  5. Great banana bread recipe! The batter is pretty thin, which made my addition of chocolate chips more of a chocolate crust on the bottom, but the bread turned out great. Might be my new standard recipe.

  6. Thanks! That was easy. It’s baking now. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Can actually taste the banana-which surprised me. Pretty good considering I only used one medium sized banana. I made muffins and I think I overfilled the cups because the bottoms had to be too well done in order to make the middles cooked.

  8. This is such a great recipe. Also my dad and my uncle love this recipe too.Awesome!

  9. I made this tonight. We loved it. Only one banana and I threw in mini chocolate chips about 3/4 cup maybe. I had to let it cook for 1 hour but it was good. I think you should give iT A TRY

  10. lovely!! i made a few changes to the recipe but it was wonderful!

    http://soyons-ouf.blogspot.com/2009/11/maple-banana-bread-madeleines.html

  11. I just took this bread out of the oven. I came out great. Not the BEST banana nut bread that I’ve had but, since I only had one banana it worked out. I will make this again when I have one last rotting banana lying around. (:

  12. Can you be more specific when you say STICK of butter/margarine? I’m going to just assume you mean a 2-cup block.

  13. I love this recipe. Even when I have two bananas, I just make 2 batches of this banana bread versus using a 2-nanner recipe! Toast your nuts if you want more nutty flavor ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. this recipe was perfect. tasted great, i just added walnuts and some mini choc. chips

  15. I had this in the oven in 10 minutes, no joke! Hope it tastes as good as it was easy to make!!!

  16. This is a great recipe! I tried it and loved it…Thanks!

  17. I had 1 black banana on my counter last week and threw it in my freezer to save for banana bread. Well I finally had time to make this and it was great! Surprisingly it has a ton of banana flavor for 1 banana. I added some cinnamon and topped with a crumb topping (1/3 stick butter, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup flour). These are delicious, thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. This is the best recipe ever! I use it every time for my banana bread!!!!!
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. […] one could in fact make banana bread with one banana. ย Within 0.20 seconds of my Google search, the What A Crock! provided this basic and practically perfect recipe for One Banana […]

  20. I just made this and will link up when I post about it. Very delish, Thank you!

  21. just slammed this badboy in the oven!

  22. This is terrific! Nice n’ easy for someone who is not a big cook/baker in general! Made it while my son’s dinner was cooking. Added some cinnamon and reduced the sugar and replaced with honey & maple syrup instead – YUMMO!!!

  23. I love this recipe – it seems I always end up with one brown banana (I only eat bananas raw when they are still green!) and I found this recipe months ago and tried it. Then again & again & again – it’s now my go-to recipe for banana nut bread (always make it with walnuts). And we eat it warm out of the oven with butter all over it!

  24. THis is the second time I am making this recipe. I loved it the outside of my banana bread was deliciously chewy.
    I added a cap of rum which cgave it a little extra “kick’ to the recipe.

  25. I just made this & it is easy & excellent! I added chopped pecans and unsweetened shredded coconut. I also used a bundt pan & it was done in about 45 minutes.

    Definetly a keeper recipe. So basic & you can improvize upon it.

  26. I improvised on this, like Esther said!
    I used almond milk instead of milk, put pine nuts, raisins, and coconut flakes…
    Thanks for the recipe!!!

  27. OMG THIS IS THE BEST RECIPE EVER!!!1! PEOPLE TOLD ME I NEED MORE THAN ONE BANANA TO MAKE BANANa BREAD BUT I SHOWED THEM THANKS TO YOUR WONDERFUL RECIPE. OMGOMGOMGOMGTHANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOU!!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    NOMNOMNOMNOM

  28. This will be my go to recipe from now on. My picky 2 year old just said it was “the best ever” … this recipe is a definite keeper!!

  29. Yummy! Here’s a dairy free version w/ a twist…..replace the milk portion with rice milk and orange juice, and replace butter w/ smart balance spread. I also added a mix of Pecans and Walnuts, crushed. So good………..!!!!

  30. […] I decided to give that banana a job in MJPuzzlemom‘s One-Banana Banana Bread, alongside some pecans and chocolate chips. Here’s her […]

  31. this is a great and easy recipe

    I added a chopped apple just because it was keeping that banana company for so long I just couldn’t seperate them
    anyway I got 24 mini muffins and a small loaf bread out of this one recipe good job I love it

  32. I gave the top a generous coating of cinnamon sugar before baking its a nice touch.

  33. hi just put it in the oven wee bit confused with temp tho my oven does not go up to 350 degreese only 300degreese wondering in the recepie is in F?? so i just put it in on 180 C

  34. Oh my goodness! I have tried many banana bread recipes and have always had to overcook the outside to get the inside done. This recipe was awesome! I made cupcake style (12) and the outside was brown and chewy and the inside was done perfectly. They took exactly 18 minutes. I added cinnamon to the recipe. They are delicous! Thanks for sharing!

  35. Harneske said:

    My girlfriend and I just made this recipe! We tweaked it a tiny bit, just added two spoonfuls of crunchy peanut butter to the mix and then poured it into 15 cupcake liners. Perfect amount of batter and they are delicious. Thank you for the recipe!

  36. I’ve used this recipe every single time I’ve bought bananas in the last three months! The banana flavor is so delish. I add a bit of cinnamon crumb to the top and… Mmm.. tres magnifique. My family loves them. My batter yields about 14 muffins and by the time they’re cooled, there’s always 6-8 missing. Thank you so much! I always put a banana aside where they won’t eat it for this specific recipe.

  37. Well impressed. I have been in company where it is rude to throw anything out and I have found myself being so wasteful of late. The next 2 fortnights are decidedly tight so when I discovered “I really should have thrown that banana out a while ago” I doggedly set out to find a recipe like this.

    I substituted the butter for rice bran oil and my flour is a tad past it’s used by and only had a whisk however… all I could have done differently would be to cook for 15mins longer and add a touch more baking powder.

    Delicious results anyway ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks for popping recipe up. Bananas here are $12.99/kg so worth not throwing them out. Good work… oh,,, and the “deader” a banana seems, the more sweet it is in the middle so will work perfectly.

Leave a comment