In by noon or your money back!

 

Today is Slow Cooking Thursday, hosted by Sandra at Diary of a Stay at Home Mom.  It is cold and wet here.. which makes it soup winter ( today’s recipe ) I am craving Crockpot Chicken & Biscuits,  but I am making Chicken Noodle Soup  here.

sct2.jpg

 

Creamy Potato Soup

Eight medium potatoes
One large onion, diced
2 cans chicken broth (about 14 ounces)
1 pint cream
1 stick butter

Peel and dice potatoes and put in slow cooker. Cover with chicken broth on low 6 hours or until tender. (If you need a little more liquid, add a little water). Prepare dumplings in separate kettle as referenced below. (I would make at least a double batch for this soup). When cooked through, drain and pour into potato and broth mixture. Add cream and melted butter and heat through. Salt and pepper to taste.

Flour Dumplings

1 cup flour
1 egg
1 tsp. baking powder

Enough milk to make sticky, about 1/4 cup.

Mix ingredients together until stiff. Boil water in large saucepan (I use 5-6 quart.) Drop dumplings into boiling water, cutting them off spoon about a half-teaspoon size. Once all are in the water let boil about three minutes. Drain and add to soup. (I usually double or triple this recipe for a large crock pot of soup, as they are so good

Comments on: "Creamy Potato Soup – crockpot" (4)

  1. now that sounds good, I wish my crockpot wasn’t full of last weeks recipe of chili…
    I think I know what I need to add to my grocery list! Thanks YUM-O

  2. Yum! I’ve never seen a potato soup with dumplings. Sounds good!

  3. That sounds delicious! I am going to give it a try! 🙂

  4. Great minds think alike! I posted a potato soup as well. I’ve never had it this way. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

