In by noon or your money back!

Minestrone Ground Beef Soup

Today is Slow Cooking Thursday, hosted by the lovely Sandra at Diary of a Stay at Home Mom . Share a recipe on your blog and go link it at her blog.

Please come back and Join me for Freezer Food Friday and a pot pie recipe for your freezer:

 

 

It is fast becoming soup weather, here is one I am anxious to try!

 

Minestrone Ground Beef Soup

 

1 pound ground beef

1 large onion (chopped)

2 potatoes (peeled and cubed)

2 carrots (peeled and chopped)

2 stalks celery (diced)

1 cup shredded cabbage

1 (28-ounce) can tomatoes and its juice

1 bay leaf

1/4 teaspoon thyme

1/4 teaspoon basil

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper.

 

Brown the ground beef and pour off any grease. Put everything in a large kettle or crockpot. Cook for 8 to 12 hours. (I brown the beef in the soup kettle.) I use diced tomatoes for this soup. If you use whole tomatoes, mash them up a bit. Also, remove the bay leaf before serving the soup.

Comments on: "Minestrone Ground Beef Soup" (8)

  1. I’m getting ready for soup too.I have a recipe that is really similar to this and it is always good.

  2. This sounds great. Thanks for sharing.

  3. This recipe is one I’ll have to try. Thanks for posting it! I keep trying to get in the swing of things regarding participating in memes and such but I do well to just get the food actually cooked. 😉 I do try to update my blog though. We’re having a beef roast and vegetables tonight but cooked in the pressure cooker rather than the slow cooker. It’s the best beef roast I’ve eaten, bar none!

  4. Hi MJ

    That sounds perfect for the fall,I think I’d better start printing recipes out..So I will try them.Thanks for your lovely comment and to anwer your question the spaghetti sauce was yummy. 😉 I think from now on that’s how I will make it. Nice and easy..Have a great day.

  5. Sounds so good. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  6. YUM, this sounds good.

  7. This sounds like a great recipe, I’m going to have to put it in the rotation!

  8. Thanks for the minestrone soup recipe. We eat soups especially in the fall and winter. So good with garlic bread or cornbread! yum!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

