In by noon or your money back!

Crock Pot Carne Asada

Crock Pot Carne Asada

3 pounds beef stew meat

2 cans diced tomatoes with green chilies

Salt and pepper, to taste

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup chopped onion

3 tablespoons flour

1/2 teaspoon cumin

1/2 teaspoons oregano

1 teaspoon chili powder

1/4 cup water

1 diced bell pepper

Place stew meat, 1/4 cup water, salt and pepper in crock pot. Turn heat to high and let simmer for 1 1/2 hours. Drain juice from tomatoes into measuring cup. Add tomatoes, garlic and onions to crock pot; stir and let simmer on high for 30 minutes. Add cumin, oregano, and chili powder to crock pot and stir. Blend juice and enough water to equal 1 1/2 cups liquid and flour. Stir into meat/veggie mixture. Let cook on low for 3 to 4 hours until sauce is nice and thick. (If you like runnier gravy, three hours is good). Serve with warm flour tortillas.

Comments on: "Crock Pot Carne Asada" (6)

  1. I have a recipe for this but it’s not for the crock pot. I bet this is great!

  2. M.J.,
    I am working hard at trying to find a crock pot here in Bolivia so I can try out all these yummy recipes!! That’s no easy task either!! In the meantime I’m putting together a list of freezer foods to put up so we can have good meals after the baby is born. Thanks for all the great recipes. I’m looking forward to seeing you at Sandy Cove next year.
    Love,
    Denise
    PS Check out my blog to see our lastest excitement with Patience…never a dull moment…25 stitches!!

  3. Sonya Sellek said:

    I have made this recipe for my family many times, and they love it. Its so easy to do. The left overs are even better!! The first time I made it, there was too much liquid, so I ommited the water, and it turned out great. This is a great recipe for a large crowd. We serve it with tortillas, sour cream, cheese, cilantro! YUMMY!!!!!!

  4. Hi MJ! It was exciting to Google Carne Asada Crock pot and have YOUR link come up First! 🙂 I’ll let you know how it comes out for me… I use recipes as “guidelines” though… I think we’re out of Chili pepper! :-/
    Blessings!!

  5. […] On Favorite Recipes/Uses for the Crockpot: “If we have roasted chicken for dinner one night, I usually put the bones in my crockpot to make home-made soup for the next night’s dinner.  Soups are some of my favorite meals for the crockpot.   My three personal favorite crockpot recipes are: Taco Soup https://mjpuzzlemom.wordpress.com/2009/03/28/taco-soup-in-the-crockpot/, Sweet Aromatic Chicken https://mjpuzzlemom.wordpress.com/2007/05/28/sweet-aromatic-chicken-crockpot/,  and Crock Pot Carne Asada https://mjpuzzlemom.wordpress.com/2008/03/18/crock-pot-carne-asada/.” […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

