In by noon or your money back!

Rachel at A Juggling Mom’s Food Blog has agreed to let me begin hosting Freezer Food Friday here. Thank you so much Rachel.

To join in please post a recipe that can be made ahead and frozen, on your blog and then link your post here. Don’t forget to leave me a comment.

Feel free to grab the freezer icon and use that in your post.

Here is my opening offer.

Icebox Sugar Cookies

Total: 25 mins, plus refrigeration time
Active: 10 mins
Makes: 48 cookies

Game plan: Make extra batches, wrap them in plastic, and freeze for later use. To finish, take them out of the freezer and slice and bake as directed. The dough can be frozen up to a month. This basic recipe tastes great when the log is rolled in spiced sugar (1 cup granulated sugar and 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg, cinnamon, or cardamom) prior to slicing.

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
8 tablespoons unsalted butter (1 stick), at room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup whole milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 large egg, at room temperature

Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt in a medium mixing bowl to aerate and break up any lumps. Set aside.

Combine butter and sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment and mix on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 to 5 minutes. Add milk and vanilla, and blend well. Scrape down the bowl, add egg, and mix well. Put mixer on low, add flour mixture, and mix until just incorporated.

Turn dough onto a piece of plastic wrap, shape it into a log (approximately 12 inches long and 1 1/2 inches in diameter), and wrap tight. Place in the refrigerator until firm, at least 1 hour but preferably 8 hours.

When ready to bake the cookies, heat the oven to 350°F and arrange the rack in the middle. Remove dough from the refrigerator and slice into 1/4-inch-thick rounds.

Place on an ungreased baking sheet and bake until golden brown on the bottom, about 12 minutes

Comments on: "Freezer Food Friday is back! Icebox Sugar Cookies" (18)

  1. A Juggling Mum said:

    Hi MJ,

    That’s a great recipe for your first FFF 🙂 I’ll have to try them.
    I finally got the chest freezer I have been wanting so now that I have more freezer space I will be trying out a lot of your recipes and I’ll join in FFF when I find any good recipes 🙂

  2. Those sound great. I will come back next week and post something.

  3. […] Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday! […]

  4. Super meme. I’ll be joining on Friday

  5. […] Here is my Menu Plan for this week. I have only planned 6 meals, as I know THERE WILL BE LEFTOVERS!  Thanks to Laura The Organizing Junkie for hosting Menu Plan Monday. Post your own plan and go there to link your plan ( on Monday ) or visit her site to glean new ideas As always, this is THE PLAN, and all plans are subject to change as the need arises or as the fancy strikes my mind. I don’t assign nights as I like to have a little freedom to cook what I want or what I have time for.I only planned 6 meals as I am finding that 7 are too many ( 6 may be too). Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday! […]

  6. […] Here is my Menu Plan for this week. I have only planned 6 meals, as I know THERE WILL BE LEFTOVERS!  Thanks to Laura The Organizing Junkie for hosting Menu Plan Monday. Post your own plan and go there to link your plan ( on Monday ) or visit her site to glean new ideas As always, this is THE PLAN, and all plans are subject to change as the need arises or as the fancy strikes my mind. I don’t assign nights as I like to have a little freedom to cook what I want or what I have time for.I only planned 6 meals as I am finding that 7 are too many ( 6 may be too). Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday! […]

  7. […] Here is my Menu Plan for this week. I have only planned 6 meals, as I know THERE WILL BE LEFTOVERS!  Thanks to Laura The Organizing Junkie for hosting Menu Plan Monday. Post your own plan and go there to link your plan ( on Monday ) or visit her site to glean new ideas As always, this is THE PLAN, and all plans are subject to change as the need arises or as the fancy strikes my mind. I don’t assign nights as I like to have a little freedom to cook what I want or what I have time for.I only planned 6 meals as I am finding that 7 are too many ( 6 may be too). Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday! […]

  8. […] Here is my Menu Plan for this week. I have only planned 6 meals, as I know THERE WILL BE LEFTOVERS!  Thanks to Laura The Organizing Junkie for hosting Menu Plan Monday. Post your own plan and go there to link your plan ( on Monday ) or visit her site to glean new ideas As always, this is THE PLAN, and all plans are subject to change as the need arises or as the fancy strikes my mind. I don’t assign nights as I like to have a little freedom to cook what I want or what I have time for.I only planned 6 meals as I am finding that 7 are too many ( 6 may be too). Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday! […]

  9. […]  Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday! […]

  10. […]  Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday! […]

  11. […]  Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday! […]

  12. […] Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday! […]

  13. […] Thanks to Laura The Organizing Junkie for hosting Menu Plan Monday. Post your own plan and go there to link your plan or visit her site to glean new ideas As always, this is THE PLAN, and all plans are subject to change as the need arises or as the fancy strikes my mind. I don’t assign nights as I like to have a little freedom to cook what I want or what I have time for.I only planned 6 meals as I am finding that 7 are too many ( 6 may be too).Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday! […]

  14. […] Thanks to Laura The Organizing Junkie for hosting Menu Plan Monday. Post your own plan and go there to link your plan or visit her site to glean new ideas As always, this is THE PLAN, and all plans are subject to change as the need arises or as the fancy strikes my mind. I don’t assign nights as I like to have a little freedom to cook what I want or what I have time for.I only planned 6 meals as I am finding that 7 are too many ( 6 may be too).Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday! […]

  15. […] Thanks to Laura The Organizing Junkie for hosting Menu Plan Monday. Post your own plan and go there to link your plan or visit her site to glean new ideas As always, this is THE PLAN, and all plans are subject to change as the need arises or as the fancy strikes my mind. I don’t assign nights as I like to have a little freedom to cook what I want or what I have time for.I only planned 6 meals as I am finding that 7 are too many ( 6 may be too).Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday! […]

  16. […] Thanks to Laura The Organizing Junkie for hosting Menu Plan Monday. Post your own plan and go there to link your plan or visit her site to glean new ideas As always, this is THE PLAN, and all plans are subject to change as the need arises or as the fancy strikes my mind. I don’t assign nights as I like to have a little freedom to cook what I want or what I have time for.I only planned 6 meals as I am finding that 7 are too many ( 6 may be too).Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday! […]

  17. […] Thanks to Laura The Organizing Junkie for hosting Menu Plan Monday. Post your own plan and go there to link your plan or visit her site to glean new ideas As always, this is THE PLAN, and all plans are subject to change as the need arises or as the fancy strikes my mind. I don’t assign nights as I like to have a little freedom to cook what I want or what I have time for.I only planned 5 meals as I am finding that 7 are too many ( 5 may be too).Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday […]

  18. […] Thanks to Laura The Organizing Junkie for hosting Menu Plan Monday. Post your own plan and go there to link your plan or visit her site to glean new ideas As always, this is THE PLAN, and all plans are subject to change as the need arises or as the fancy strikes my mind. I don’t assign nights as I like to have a little freedom to cook what I want or what I have time for.I only planned 6 meals as I am finding that 7 are too many (6 may be too).Please come back and join me for Freezer Food Friday […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

